Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Metalhead
9,088 Posts
With w.w. y'll need a longer warmup period.
An analogy; Waterwetter is basically a liquid "stuck open thermostat" ? hehehe

I do non destructive testing for a living and am familiar with many "additives" which are not needed and/or used for wrong purpose. The use of some additives inhibits cooling properties of coolant liquids or anti-corrosive properties. Im not saying you don't need this product, I only want to warn about a property of waterwetter...

In time "agewise" it corrodes aluminum.

Water Wetter has a high Ph, but also has silicates, so it can be used in aluminium radiators. However, if left for a long time, the silicates are depleted, and damage will occur...
http://www.vtr.org/maintain/lubricants-redline.html#coolants

The ph causes pitting/crevice corrosion. It is when the solution is stagnant, your sled sitting over the spring/summer/fall months without circulation, the nature is localized corrosion and will etch smooth surfaces to eventually pitting over time. I don't have a clue how much corrosion will take place over year...just something to remember with any products that have high ph's.

Plain water itself is one of the best if not is the best liquid to take away heat from an object however cannot have pure water in a snowmobile engine. You will do great cooling by mixing a proper ratio of antifreeze/water to get a blend that is good for -30 F. Less antfreeze and more water in the ratio of mix will result in a liquid that is more efficient at removing heat....waterwetter will enhance coolant protection, is well proven and works good.

Let your sled warm up for longer period before driving.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I use Water Wetter in my race car. Drops temp 20 to 30 degrees. You can find it where ever race car parts are sold. Not hard to find. Somebody might have some close by. Check around

·
I GOT THE NEED FOR SPEED !!!
5,179 Posts

·
Registered
1,676 Posts