Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I gotta say, changing the engine oil wasn't nearly the big production I was expecting. I had been considering buying some kind of pump after doing some reserch on here (even the local dealership uses them). Once I figured out it took a 13 mm wrench it went pretty good. Not enough room to pull the wrench from the right side of the machine, took off the airbox and reached over from the left side and was able to loosen the plug. All the oil drained nicely out the center rib on the bellypan. Replaced the plug and started looking for the filter cover. Nice easy access there.

Before attempting this, I was considering drilling an access hole in the pan, but I really don't see the need to now. Yes, I do realize that I was changing the oil on a summer day (and not in the middle of the bush, in winter, during a storm....).

I am by no means a mechanic but I found this a pretty straight forward job. It was a hell of a lot easier than changing the oil on my 08 honda rubicon (you have to drop the plastic skid plate to access the filter cover).

My plan is to keep very little gasoline in the tank, add some fresh stuff every month and run it until it reaches full operating temp. I have been doing this with my 2000 skandic WTLC since new. It has 10000 kms. We just had a look inside the engine with a laproscopic camera and everything looks really good, lots of cross hatching left on the cylinder walls, etc.

·
7,718 Posts
Let's see a pic of exactly how you accessed the drain plug.

I have had to pump the sucker thus far and would like to do a proper drain instead... also do not want to cut the bellypan considering the amount of water I find myself running.

Many thanks.

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·