Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What causes this? 3000 km and the part by two front bogies is down to the wear line while rest has 75% remaining. Track too loose?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
Yes that is normal

·
Registered
416 Posts
It depends on what we call normal. Does it mean we're used to sleds having these problems for years
and the manufacturers not addressing them? Do we call that normal? I guess so because we keep on buying
them. I don't know some how that just doesn't seem normal!!

·
Master Electrician
2,304 Posts
I have been riding for 40+ years. Ever since the slide suspension came out back in the 70's, the slides have had wear patterns as you see here. Think about the inertia of the track as it rounds the sprockets and heads for the slides. The track is getting thrown to the ground by the drive axle. This causes a wave in the track and results in more pressure in certain places of the skid. That is why the bogie wheels are placed where they are. Next time your on the lake or really wide straight trail, look over at your buddies sled and watch his track, you'll see exactly what I'm talking about.

If we all rode very slow, like below 40mph we would notice the wear would be much more even. But who wants to ride slow? Not Me that's for sure. I'd rather but a set of slides every season. Besides that, you need to remove the skid and check everything so you don't get left in the woods by some preventative maintenance that you should of been doing.

Slides are cheap and your labor is free. Snowmobiles require lot's of maintenance, slide's are one of the cheaper item's.

·
Registered
127 Posts
If you left them on for another 2000mi, they'd look the exact same.

·
Registered
7,764 Posts
Yep, if you can figure a way to make hyfax wear even, ill buy you a house on the coast.