Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I have lots and lotsa miles on TRAs (owned sleds with em since 1989) and have had great luck with them from a reliability standpoint, but I am new to the 1200 and see a lot of posts on failures and short lifespan.

That surprised me since my sled (2012 mxz-x, TRA 4) has such a light spring in it (very little leverage and force on the arms, ramps, rollers...)

What is it about the 1200 that causes all these problems??

·
boost junkie
10,603 Posts
high rpms and bigger springs with more weight will turn turn the wimpy, noisy tra4 into junk

stock they are not horrable, but will never be close to a tra5

·
Fuzzy but not Blue........
10,652 Posts
The 3cyl harmonics. Its hard on the primary. Tried to keep my TRA living for a long time and spent alot on parts for it, just wants to eat itself up. If you are hard on the gas corner to corner type it wears fast. I have moved on from it(had two TRA's), but liked it better than the PB80.

-grover

·
Registered
548 Posts
89mx I am in the same boat and there is LOTS of reading on here as far as clutching goes. ......tra....edrive...pb80 get comfortable and start reading lol

I am still trying to decide which way I will go

·
Registered
3,395 Posts
TRA can be made to perform good but in my opinion is continually self destructing on a 1200 or any 4-stroke. Broken arms, worn ramps, worn rollers, grooves in the faces, etc. I had a pair of v-twin 800's in last spring and the only thing good in both clutches were the arms. Ramps, rollers, faces were all shot. Ive got a powerbloc on both of mine and they simply work with very few issues.

I've had and tuned many TRA's over the years and really liked them. The only thing I miss is the clickers.

·
Registered
8,790 Posts