Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

My brother recently bought a Summit 800 Etec 2013, sled has approx 4500km, i'm new to those machines but learning quickly. I notice it vibrates alot at idle, so much you see the enging shakind and primary clutch kinda bouncing around. But as soon as you give some gas, lets say go to 1500-2000 rpm it runs smooth it's unbeleivable! Nothing like my GTX 550F which runs really smooth.. It seems to be "normal" for those machines from what i've read on forums in the last days.

I got a shop manual with specs for crankshaft measurements, but i did not have time to check with the clutch removed (had a day do a "tuneup"), i used a dial gauge to check the crankshaft runout, but on the outer part of the clutch (lets say top drum) and got .030" which i consider alot, but could not find any specs with the clutch, only on the crankshaft itself.

Anybody got measures, or at least do you guys think we can finish up the month 1/2 of riding season without blowing anything? (mostly trails, some lake fun and woods exploration, nothing too crazy lol)

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,938 Posts
You need to remove the primary clutch and measure the run out on the center of the crank taper.

My guess is your primary clutch has not been indexed properly to the crank.

And the torque stop on the front left side of engine mount...needs to be set up tight.

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
Engine spport(s) might be kaput.

You also mentionned reving to 1500rpm, what is the idle speed of the sled ? Sound low to me if you have to rev it to 1500

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Most do at low rpm...resonant frequency vs excessive runout are 2 different things. if it gets better with RPM it is likely fine. If it got worse with RPM that is a bad sign. Worth checking PTO runout with that many km's just for peace of mind. A worn clutch will also show more shake at low RPM, or possibly sacked out motor-mounts.

·