Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are total noobies to snowmobiling, our sled is a Ski-Doo Skandic 550Fwhich we bought from the local dealership, who told us that the gas and oil mix should be 40:1, so in other words when we buy gas we get it in a 20Liter jerry can and mix in 1/2 a 1Liter of Two-stroke Oil and shake the jerry can like crazy before filling it into the fuel tank. The question I keep asking and not even the Dealer can tell me is why there's a Two-stroke oil reservoir under the hood that we always have to keep filled, and it uses a different two-stroke oil, so basically we are buying 2 different oils, and spend most of our time riding worrying if that hidden oil tank is still full, we stop every 50Km to check. Also what is the best fuel mix for the motor, it was run-in for us by the dealer and had 505Km on the odometer when it arrived at our house

·
Registered
330 Posts
We are total noobies to snowmobiling, our sled is a Ski-Doo Skandic 550Fwhich we bought from the local dealership, who told us that the gas and oil mix should be 40:1, so in other words when we buy gas we get it in a 20Liter jerry can and mix in 1/2 a 1Liter of Two-stroke Oil and shake the jerry can like crazy before filling it into the fuel tank. The question I keep asking and not even the Dealer can tell me is why there's a Two-stroke oil reservoir under the hood that we always have to keep filled, and it uses a different two-stroke oil, so basically we are buying 2 different oils, and spend most of our time riding worrying if that hidden oil tank is still full, we stop every 50Km to check. Also what is the best fuel mix for the motor, it was run-in for us by the dealer and had 505Km on the odometer when it arrived at our house
Just to get this straight :

- your profile says that you have a 2015 Skandic WT 550F, so your sled is either factory new to you, or nearly new to you (previously enjoyed)?