Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to doo. I got a hand me down 99 formula dlx 500 fan. It's going to be my buddy/wife sled and I'm in the process of getting it going. The skis were shot so I'm getting a set of the camoplast blow molded skis. They fit the projects budget and for the intended use I think they will work well. The upper chain case bearing had a failed cage and it was ratcheting. I replaced the bearings and seals and chain, first one I had done so I was pretty proud. I changed the brake rotor key, it has pretty eaten up from going back and forth on the shaft. Something happened with the brake caliper and one piston fully retracted and the other extended and it ground down the rotor groove so I put an eBay caliper on it and that's all good.

It came from my wife's mother and hadn't been ridden in 5 years. I took the gas out of it 3 years ago but never drained the carbs or cleaned them. When I cleaned them this time they were stained yellow. I cleaned the jets, one pilot is stuck someone broke off the screw slot so I had to clean it in place. I had to turn up the idle screws 3/4 turn to get it to idle at 1600 and the air screws in to 1.5 turns to get a steady idle. It won't come up off idle without a shot of choke so a second cleaning is in order. I'm going to chem-dip them as the outsides are filthy too.

Now can you all help me out for the what's to look for and be sure to do? I have the PDF of the doo shop manual.

Where is the fuel filter and what kind is it? Is it a mesh metal screen, paper? Does it act as the clunk? I have seen the check valve going to the oil pump that looks like a fuel filter but I know that's not it.