Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I've got this 2000 Formula Deluxe 700. Its got 6800 Kilometers on it...or so the speedo says. I got this thing used from a guy who got it from a guy...etc. Any way, my polaris buddy keeps telling me I got to ditch this thing be cause of an issue they have with "blowing" the lower case bearings out because they are not lubricated properly. I did a little research on this, and still am confused as to which ROTAX series engine I have. Can anyone shed me some light on the subject? And, do I have to worry about any thing? It runs great, except for starting when cold sometimes.

·
Registered
2,820 Posts
The 700 is a great motor. Wish they still made it. Oh and slap your polaris buddy he's confused. I'm not a pro on the 700 but almost all the Doo engines used sealed bearings with ISO grease in them. If a bearing seal fails the engine can suck in air leaning it out. Alot of high milage 700's out there. It's all in how well it was maintained.

·
Registered
78 Posts
The 2000 700 had a oil hole instead of a sealed bearing in 2001 they plugged up the hole and put it sealed bearing in but if you use good quality of oil I've never had an issue

·
Registered
602 Posts
The 700 is an excellent motor, great power and perform close to an 800 with less issues.
I never had bearing issues on mine, miss that sled

·
Have been
5,940 Posts
This is a laugh a Polaris guy telling you your Rotax has a Bearing problem, The worst skidoo is a 800 series 3 and it has a life span of double that of most Polaris engines!

A 700 skidoo is one of there better engines Skidoo made!

·
Registered
146 Posts