Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2011 renegade 550f which I have had for a while now and am looking to increase hp. I know everyone always says go to a liquid cooled but I'm in a situation where I wouldn't be able to. Seen a lot about clutches, pipes and cans but where should I start?

·
Banned
59,630 Posts
Good question. I would also be interested for fan cooled.

·
Registered
3,400 Posts
I am no expert but I think a little bit of porting and the Aien exhaust system supposedly make a decent increase.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
8,429 Posts
I am thinking that ski doo offered a hop-up performance kit especially for the 550 motor.

Not sure if they still do or not.

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
I'm going to be the black cloud. I wish someone told me this a long time ago... Gas and riding a stocker is more fun than wrenching on a modder.

Performance and 550f don't really go together. You can drop $300 on a clutch kit, couple hundred on a pipe, couple hundred on a port... The list goes on and on... Before you know it you spent over $1k and decreased reliability and performance consistency. If you take the money you will spend on hop ups, the down time you will inevitably get, and the money you will get out of your pre hacked up unmodified sled you can have a great running great performing liquid.

·
Banned
59,630 Posts
Mike how many miles you got on your 550

·
Registered
3,875 Posts
the rev chassis 550 X was a hauler with the bigger carbs and some clutching , wanna say we were getting 83 - 84 mph out of our 2007 ' s

·
Registered
1,218 Posts
I have a 2011 renegade 550f which I have had for a while now and am looking to increase hp. I know everyone always says go to a liquid cooled but I'm in a situation where I wouldn't be able to. Seen a lot about clutches, pipes and cans but where should I start?