Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve rebuilt several KYB mono tube shocks in the past but I attempted my first piggy back rebuild today. I have a few questions and am wondering if someone would mind if I gave them a call to discuss some doubt that I have about my workmanship. Figure it may be easier on the phone.
Please PM if you are able to help.
Thanks

·
Registered
3,641 Posts
I followed this. Only concern i have is they want the floating piston bottomed out in bore but to me it seems odd but i beleive the skidoo service says same thing.

Im no expert but have followed above on mine to freshen up. Leave revalves for experts

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes, I have seen that video. Seems to cover the basics and like you said leave the valving to the experts.
With the floating piston bottomed out the shock will be softer as there will be less oil and more Nitrogen. I believe there is about 15mm difference between factory spec. and the piston bottomed out. FWIW: I put mine to the bottom.

·
Registered
646 Posts
What do you guys mean by having the IFP "bottomed out?

The Nitrogen is there to pressurize the oil so it wont cavitate when passing through the shim stack/piston AND provide a space for increased oil volume when the shock is compressed.

If the IFP height is set too deep and the IFP hits the bottom in a piggyback even one millimeter before the shock reaches fully extended length the oil will become unpressurized, or more precisely subjected to "vacuum", which will more or less guarantee that gas will bypass the IFP into the oil. Putting the IFP too shallow could wreck the shock if the IFP hits the piggyback "lid" before the shock is fully compressed