Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I looked around and didn't find a procedure, so I thought I would put one up since I figured it out. It's very easy to do and can be completed without removing the clutch from the crankshaft.

Here's how I did it on my 2020 900t XRS. I am not a clutch expert. I only know what I have read here on Dootalk.com and wanted to give back a little from all the stuff I have learned on here over the years.

This is the first time I have ever greased these and is in response to the thread from last spring. My sled has 2447 miles on it and I mostly ride lower Michigan, so it's lot's of corner to corner acceleration and braking. There may be better ways to complete this task, but this seemed to work well. I am open to any and all suggestions for doing this next time. I plan to do this once a year as a preventative maintenance procedure.

1. Crack cold beer and get out your Dootalk.com PW'ing can cooler!

2. Remove the side cover, belt cover and belt. Blow all the dust out with compressed air. I used a scotch bright pad to clean the clutch faces. I used Brake cleaner and paper towels to wipe the faces clean.

3. Test all 3 rollers by spinning them with your fingers to see how they feel. Mine all rolled freely and looked good, with minimal wear.

4. Remove the button head screw for the roller. It takes a T25 Torx head.

Automotive tire Tire Alloy wheel Motor vehicle Fluid

5. Thread in a M5 x 0.8 x 35mm bolt to use to push the shaft out with light taps from hammer while supporting the clutch.

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Gas Rim Machine

6. As the shaft pulls out be sure to catch the red urethane bushings on each side of the roller. I also put a piece of blue tape under the roller in case the needles fall out to keep them from falling inside the clutch. +

Gas Auto part Electric blue Metal Pipe