Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have a whole list of the stuff I want and need to get done. Gonna just post questions here when I get to certain things.

First of all I got my primary off and partly taken apart.

Very dirty, any recommendations on cleaning? I was thinking let it soak in hot soapy water to help get in the spots my fingers don't touch? And should I take it more apart before doing that?

Also, rollers seem to be fine not much play at all but can tell them and weights have some signs of wear... Weights have a sharp edge on them, so replace everything just for safe measure? Or if looks okay just leave it?

Also I was stupid and did not make a mark for how the primary was lined up for timing or balancing with the arrow on the outside .. Any help there? Will the inner half have a line or arrow also? Or do I have to guess and do process of elimination. I am new to clutches and want to learn about them. Thanks in advance for any help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
27,910 Posts
Yes, go ahead and clean. If you like, remove the rollers to exam wear on the bushings. Clean sliding half and spring cover bushings with a petrol-based cleaner and inspect for wear, or better yet measure for wear. As per shop manual do not use acetone to clean bushings.

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay thank you, I mean I don't know if the clutch has ever been serviced so that's why I am leaning towards just replacing parts.. Don't have the tool to get to the spring but how crucial is it to get inside there? And should I use some emery cloth or something on the ramps cause they have a sharp edge on the sides of them?

·
Super Moderator
9,641 Posts