Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I’m new to the forum. I’ve been reading threads on here for a while -there’s a lot of great information to be had- but just joined recently.

My questions start with a 1992 Skidoo Skandic 2, the 377 model. No reverse, no electric start. I picked it up early this summer, hoping to fix it up for winter to use for some firewood hauling, light trail grooming, etc. It has no spark, and unfortunately the issue was not as simple as replacing the CDI, which I did, as the last one was definitely shot. And oh- I think this is the weird ducati ignition system with the CDI and coil in one unit, mounted (for whatever reason) on the backside of the engine block. I’m fairly new to fixing snowmachines, but I’ve had a little experience and have covered the basics. I’m working on this skandic hopefully to build my skills and learn a little more.

Anyway, I replaced the CDI only to realize that there is this mysterious part on the wiring diagram, somewhere between the CDI and some switches, that is missing on my machine. It appears to be marked as “Booster Assembly”. I can’t seem to find any information on this part. Am I completely missing something? Is it like a voltage regulator or something? Any idea if this is a necessary part to creating spark?

Any help or ideas towards the no spark problem in general appreciated as well. What I’ve done so far: replaced spark plugs and CDI/coil unit. Tested plug caps for proper resistance. Tested the stator as well and resistance values appear to match up to factory specs.

Thanks in advance.

Here’s a picture of the wiring diagram with the mystery part circled.

·
Registered
96 Posts