Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Just picked my 2020 XRS and this is my first time buying new and have a few questions.

1. For break in motor dealer said drive the way you want just don't leave open throttle for long stretches. Is this right or should I go easy on it? Anything else I should know.

2. I'm planing on putting a trail can on it. Should I wait until break in period is over?

3. I've heard someone say before that you shouldn't stud a new track. You should run it a bit first. Is this true or can I stud it now.

Pictures doesn't do this sled justice.

Attachments

·
Registered
843 Posts
Nice looking sled!
You will be in breakin mode for approx. 400 miles so you won't feel it's full potential until past breakin.
I agree not holding it wide open on the lake for any extended period but I wouldn't be afraid to pin the throttle for quick bursts.
agree with snirthead also....skip the can!

Nice sled, read your owner's manual and skip the can.

·
Super Moderator
29,368 Posts
Run the motor in hard-ish. Heat cycles are good. I normally do short full throttle blasts across the back field, miles at a time.

On the track, probably wouldn't hurt to wait a few miles but probably no real reason to wait these days.

And yeah, PLEASE, skip the can. No need for one other than noise.

Wicked looking sled too, BTW. :righton

·
Registered
9,903 Posts