Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, before anyone says read thru all the old posts, let me say that I did and didn't really find what I was looking for... I am sure the=is has been covered forty eight billion times but what I need is all the basic knowledge of the clutch-I am not affraid to rip something apart and fabricate when its necessary. I have ripped apart and tuned enough cars, but I am new to the tunin the sled!!

I am fairly light- 165 lbs with a 99 Mach Z with V-force Reeds, PSI pipes, cans and a track with 192 studs. I ride mostly packed trail with an occasional romp in the powder or a run across the lake.

What I am wondering is I tried to put a Goodwin clutch kit. The primary I thought was pretty straight foward since it was just takin out the old ramps and spring and putting the other ones in. Did I miss something here or was that correct in assuming? I keep seeing all this stuff about weights and such. It came with a blue spring for the primary if that helps.

I did the secondary and this is where I think I screwed it up. I put the new spring in the holes that the stock one came out of thinkin this was a good place to start.

This is what the sled did when I finally pulled it out of the shop- It will tool around the yard fine which is what I started with to make sure it wasn't goin to self-destruct. When I romp on the gas the RPM's jump right up to right around 8600 but as soon as the sled starts to pull the RPM's drop right down to 5500 and it won't go any higher. After I back off the throttle and slow down, it will do the same thing once I hop on the gas.

Now I know a lot of you are prolly sayin "What a moron..its clearly his ...." and thats fine. I am just lookin for some good ol' help here broken down to Barney level. I mean talk to me as though I am smart, but I need the basics of how the clutch and shifting works.