Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys.. I ordered a 2012 MXZ X 800.... Can't wait to get it!! I am new to the snowmobile world...

What are the must have items? I will mainly do trail riding..

Should I stud the track? If so what kind and how many..

Any help would be greatly appreciated.. : )

·
Mass Confussion
2,988 Posts
Depending on how aggressive of a rider you are the 1.25 ice ripper is a nice trail track. It has about 250 snow tire type studs already in the track. It will not give you great hole shots or superior braking but much better than a none studded track. Less rotating weight than normal studs. Your dealer should be able to offer the upgrade.

·
Registered
11,244 Posts
Leave it stock. Don't pi$$ your money away on mods.
It depends on what you call "mods".
Depending on where you are going too ride. I can see:
A full set of Grip N Rip braces
A good skid plate
Enough studs at least for safety
A good tunnel bag
Risers if you are a stand up rider
A different track if you are off trail a lot
Shock re-valve for your weight if you are a heavier guy
Springs to match
Outside carbides on the Pilot skis
A good clutch kit

and that's just a start.

But yea, if you are talking:
Pipe, can, engine mods.........FUGETABOUDIT

·
Registered
555 Posts
All the "mods" that people will tell you to do after asking that question usually apply to the person who is making the statement specifically. All though there are some things that everyone can agree that improve things the manufactuer overlooked. My advice would be to ride the sled and make improvements based upon what you think would fit you and your riding style better.

Will

·
Registered
1,201 Posts