Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I want to especially than suv1 for all the advice you give. Wow. Your help and well written posts are amazing.

Second, I'm new to sledding, and have fallen in love with the sport. Purchased a "almost totally wrecked" 2014 Skandic, and for for a Corona Virus Project, doing what is turning into a full re-build. But hit a road block.

I'm stumped. And almost embarrassed to ask. How do you take off the front seat skin?

I've got the portion off by the fuse box. And the fasteners at the front, with the "sewed in" plastic strip that locks into the front "dash". About to pull the box behind the seat, but was looking for some guidance before I started ripping things apart.

And yes, I've designed, built, rebuilt automotive engines, and know my way around a track. But, this seat has me perplexed.

·
Registered
685 Posts
There are plastic "shims" along the lower edges of the seat cover that slide into the channels along the top of the tunnel - if you're looking at the fusebox, down a smidge to the right, you'll see where the cover wraps into the channel.

They can be a pain to get out - I get an awl behind the plastic thing, then grab with pliers and carefully pull it out - it is REALLY easy to damage the cover, so be careful, it takes a bit of force.

You don't need to take the box off to get the seat/cover off. Putting it back on, otoh, the box has to at least be loose and moved out of the way.

There are four Torx headed screws - two on the sides at the back, two at the front just under the bodywork, iirc. Once those four are out, dig the front flap of the cover out, then it is just a matter of convincing the ones on the sides to get out - spread the channel a smidge with a screwdriver, try to slide it fore/aft, etc.

That's it, though. They don't act like they want to come out.