·
Recommended minimum ice thickness
4" of new clear ice is the minimum thickness for travel on foot
5" is minimum for snowmobiles and ATVs
8"- 12" for cars or small trucks

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
5-8 for sleds, altho, on the River behind my house we usually ride it when there is only 3-4

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
iambill said:
How thick does ice have to be for it to safely support a snowmobile?
That depends on how fast you are going.
[snapback]689337[/snapback]​
True, I normally don't slow down much or stop while on the river, and I have been riding it for 36 years so I would have to say I know it pretty good and where the deep spots are and where it is shallow and stuff like that. Gotta blame my Dad for getting me hooked on riding the river when I was a little kid on my 10HP Olympic following him down it on his 399 Oly.

·
Hold It Wide Open Till You See God
2,311 Posts
I was once told there is no such thing as safe ice.
My neighbor sunk his sled with 13 miles on the odometer.
He had already went over the area and had gone back for whatever reason.
By the way, he was the third sled in the group.

·
Registered
799 Posts
know the lake or body of water and there isn't a safer place to snowmobile.