Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my sled for a quick trip around the lake this weekend, and it died after about only 1/4 mile.
I was riding in about 8 inches of fresh snow, not going wide open (maybe 65 mph). I pulled the plugs and it looks like there is a hole in the top of one piston. The hole does not go all the way through, but its is definitely toast.

The sled was warmed up - my son had been riding it around for about an hour, never going more than 30 mph.

This is the second time this has happened to this sled. The first time I figured it was my fault since I was riding WFO in deep snow for several miles. But that was a couple of years and probably 700 miles ago.

If anyone has any ideas on what might be causing this, please let me know. I'm no mechanic by any means but I don't mind getting my hands dirty if I know what to look for.

·
Registered
739 Posts
Well a couple of things come to mind, 1 are the right plugs in and are they gapped correctly(to much too hot etc)? what side melted down the first time and this time? is the oil pump working to both sides? check tubing, and are the carbs running equally(is one leaner than the other?) have to take them apart to be sure. good luck, any more questions dont hesitate to ask.
ckoz

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
jak_nelson said:
what type of plugs do you have and what does the plug look like for that cyl.
[snapback]280660[/snapback]​
I use BR9es plugs, which is what the owners manual says to use. The brand is NGK) The plug for the burned up cylinder is gray/white and looks like the electrode is partially melted (shorter than it used to be). When I burned up the piston a couple of years ago, this is what the plug looked like.

The plug on the other cylinder looks good.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ckoz71 said: