Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my second 850 Etec but on my last one I constantly was having issues with the heated shield.

After doing some reading - it appears a lot of people have some issues with the fuses.

Anyone else having issues with the fuse or any other issues with their heated shield plug not working correctly?

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
I just got my second 850 Etec but on my last one I constantly was having issues with the heated shield.

After doing some reading - it appears a lot of people have some issues with the fuses.

Anyone else having issues with the fuse or any other issues with their heated shield plug not working correctly?
I've used electric shields for many years. I have a lot of experience with them. I personally don't like console mounted plugs because they are always coming loose, filling with snow, difficult to locate in the dark, etc. What kind of issues are you seeing?

·
Registered
866 Posts
I have had it happen a couple times. On 800 and 850. Not systemic so I believe it may be snow getting in the cord connectors on connect and disconnect causing a short. I carry spare fuses now.

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
A lot of times the cap loosens just enough that the ground ring looses contact and you’ll have intermittent issues. Can use a metal nut or wire direct to battery

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
The other thing you can do is get a small right angle RCA to straight RCA adapter....then leave that part plugged into the sled and unhook your helmet from the straight side of the adapter. This will put much less stress on the connection at the sled console. It's all the plugging and unplugging that stresses out the console receptacle.

...And carry extra fuses.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts