Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
2009 600 etec - I noticed the the outer sheave of my clutch is "loose" moves in & out just a hair and makes metallic sound (rattles). Was checking things out because there seemed to be a knocking noise from either the engine or the clutch. I'm far from an expert but I don't ever remember this in a clutch.

Is this ok and if not what might the issue be?

Thanks in advance.

Jim

·
Registered
11,244 Posts
There are bushings that have wear limits in the clutches. I would say you have reached the limit. How many miles on them?

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
About 4,000 miles but... the secondary belt adjuster fell off while riding and did hit the clutch while spinning.

Not very much damage to the clutch at all but corners on the "crown" portion were slightly dinged.

I'm guessing this might have hurt the bushings as well? Or worse?

·
Registered
265 Posts
Sounds like you may just need a rebuild like the other gentlemen said. If nothing else, I would pull it apart and inspect it!

·
Scuttle Buttin' Solo
73,637 Posts
Simple hand tool job but while you're at it get a hold of Chris at C&T Powersports and get the ski doo maintenance rebuild kit and do the entire thing.......he also sells the secondary clutch tools required to do that job or you could have the dealer do it every time you need something like this done........or you could buy the tools and always be able to do it yourself...

·
Registered
253 Posts
Chris at C&T is TOP NOTCH.

I would rebuild the primary. You can do it in a large vise if you are careful, or make a tool with threaded rod. I do it constantly on my RS. The buttons wear out, but I would probably agree that the fiber bushing is toast like mentioned above. Just do it all and be done, wait until you see how much dust is in there... lol.

·
Registered
265 Posts