Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm changing a voltage regulator on a 600 sdi for a family member and I've never worked on a 600 sdi before. From I found out it's located somewhere in the nun. What do I all need to do to change the voltage regulator?

Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
94 Posts
I'm looking for the same info too. Why do you think it needs to be changed?

I think I blew mine when I jumpstarted my F570 from the 600 SDI while it was running (pretty stupid and I even thought about it while I was doing it). I still have to do some troubleshooting, but it's likely the regulator or stator.

From the posts I've searched so far, I think you have to remove the exhaust. I can see it sitting below there, but not sure if you need to take something else off. I was also going to look underneath to see if there was a way to get to it from there.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Thanks for the help. Pulled the exhaust and saw where it really was.... was in a little different place than I thought. Got it out but now, how to test it?? I'll check the forums for info, but if there's a quick suggestion where to get the info, I'd appreciate it.

However, since I got that off, I tested the stator for resistance. Got continuity through only two of the three connections, the other two combinations are open. Yuck. Nothing shorted to ground though

So, now, how hard is it to pull the stator with the engine still inside? I see 4 of the bolts holding the stator cover on... is that all there are? Once off, I'm assuming I have to pull the flywheel and then find some bolts holding the stator in place. Do I need to remove anything else to get it off? (like the coolant hoses or recovery tank??)