Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Folks,

Im new to this fourm and new to Skidoo - He Ha. It's like Im 12 again riding my first sled ( A Johnson 440 - I cant remember the year, but it was a long time ago).

I just picked up a 2003 MXZ 800 that is pretty impressive ill tell ya. Its not like the old 440 I have been used too.

Well I was on the trails last weekend and felt a little bog when I was running about 40 then she would kick in and take off like a rocket down the trail. It was about 0 degrees and I figured that maybe she dont like to go slow and thats the way these 800's are.

I do not own a owner manual - I have one ordered. I came across a topic about carb heaters. and said what is this. I looked on my sled and saw a red knob on the belt side and figured this must be a buttom to turn the so called heated carbs on and off.

Is this correct? and when should I use this. I have turned it off because it was on. Is this the reson I was getting the bog - it was also hard to start at times

can anyone explain

Thank you

Rev 420

·
Crazy Person
5,615 Posts
You're correct.

Do a search, we just had a couple threads on it.

·
Registered
14,289 Posts
When the doo is hot and you go to start it.. you will find that you want or need to crack the trottle a bit.. when you pull it.. needs more air.. It is a technic you learn.. hold the trottle slightly open with one hand and pull with the other.. just when it is warm mind you..

As for the hotwater... you only want to run that first thing on a real cold powdery morning.. for about 5 or 10 minutes until the engine warms up.. then you will usually have no problems.. Maybe on a really cold day following someone in a lot of snow dust and if it starts to blubbler from icing.. you will want to turn it on... but usually you don't want to leave it on... will make the sled doggy..

Just my two cents....