Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
463 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like my rings might be gone. After crossing a road I hit the throttle & felt that my sled just didn't pull hard. When I stopped, the engine felt like it was running on 1 cyl. Changed the plugs, same thing & back fires at lower rpm. plugged the spark plug holes with my fingers & looks like the clutch side cyl has allmost no compression. I have no warranty, it was up in Dec. I have been bugging my dealer about rings for the last 2 years & all they say is don't worry about it, if there is a problem it should have gone by know. It is a 04 800HO with 5900kms. Has anyone had any problems getting this covered after there warranty is up.

·
Certifiable Sledhead and Cybertruck Reservation Ho
4,212 Posts
Renegade X H.O. said:
Looks like my rings might be gone. After crossing a road I hit the throttle & felt that my sled just didn't pull hard. When I stopped, the engine felt like it was running on 1 cyl. Changed the plugs, same thing & back fires at lower rpm. plugged the spark plug holes with my fingers & looks like the clutch side cyl has allmost no compression. I have no warranty, it was up in Dec. I have been bugging my dealer about rings for the last 2 years & all they say is don't worry about it, if there is a problem it should have gone by know. It is a 04 800HO with 5900kms. Has anyone had any problems getting this covered after there warranty is up.
[snapback]699158[/snapback]​
Sounds more like you fried a piston to me. The "ring thing" usually manifests itself as a gradual loss of performance (stalling into reverse, hard cold starting, worse fuel mileage), and not a sudden loss of compression in one cylinder like you're experiencing.