Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have had all the reasons a sled won't run given to me today I can handle. 6 inches of fresh snow and I can't get out the driveway.

I am a industrial mechanic, I can tear down and repair any thing. But I know that sometimes it's better to leave it to some one who knows. So when I decided to buy this little sled off my neighbor's brother I took it to the local dude and said "check it out".

$300 in labor and he said the carbs are wrong, it's too humid, I am running cheap plugs, fresh powder it tough on sleds and if I called and give him another chance who knows.

So is it the sled or the mechanic?

The sled is a 1991 formula mx, 2 up long track with reverse and electric start. It apparently has a same year 617 that is not original and 38 mm carbs board out to 40 mm.

The mechanic has a good reputation but I have no history to know him myself. And I have never had a sled before and may never again.

Will changing the carbs make a difference?

Grog

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I guess I was living the problem not explaining it. Sorry about that.

The previous owner complained he could not get it to run well "boggy/no power"

I did a compression check, 135 psi both cylinders. So I figured I could handle most everything else and I bought it. (bit of a sucker for punishment)

I cleaned it out and changed the battery. I noticed it had been wired wrong and the starter appeared to be wired wrong. I thought maybe it was draining the electrical and perhaps even had a fire. (some evidence of meltage)

I removed and cleaned the carbs. One of the jets was cracked. I replaced and ran the sled. OH JOY ! I thought I had It. I put the air box back on and took it for another rip. WRONG… not so good starting to sputter.

This is the part where in my infinite wisdom think take it to a pro. I AM A DUMBASS. He tells me a jet fell out.