Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I know this topic has been discussed many times. I want to add reverse to my 1996 SkiDoo Formula S 380. I am new to snowmobiles so please bear with this noob.

I found a reverse for a "F Chassis STX Formula Z". Will this fit my sled?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,452 Posts
Depending on year of STX case..,,If original to year, the shift lever mount/set up is different. The 96 and up shift lever et al should be correct to plug and play on the S chassis. If 95 or older it is a different set up. The gear set up is the same and can be used in either chassis case. The main internal difference what is called the "coupler shaft". The end of the drive axle is bigger on the STX compared to the formula S. There is coupler shafts with a small ID and large ID. The OD is same for all. So, I believe if you bought a complete set up for a 95 STX you would also need to find a S chassis shift set up and the small ID coupler shaft.

Reactions: snorander

·
Registered
2,863 Posts
Hi,

I know this topic has been discussed many times. I want to add reverse to my 1996 SkiDoo Formula S 380. I am new to snowmobiles so please bear with this noob.

I found a reverse for a "F Chassis STX Formula Z". Will this fit my sled?

Thanks in advance.
No it will not fit! You need a reverse kit from a 380, the 583 has a bigger coupler shaft. with a little effort you can make the either levers work

·
Registered
1,452 Posts