Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone ....I am new to doo talk but have always been a Skidoo guy.

I have a 2014 Ace 900 I purchase for my GF and it idles rough and has no power ...nothing smooth about it !!!

I called a friend that works for a Skidoo dealer and he said to look in the spark plug wells for water....there is none ....the sled has 700 miles on it and has always run NON ethanol fuel .

There are no marks on the coils as there would be if they were shorting out and the plugs look perfect.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

·
Registered
190 Posts
Anything blocking the air flow?

Did you put fresh gas in it?

·
Super Moderator
6,378 Posts
The 900 ACE is generally rock solid but there have been a few minor issues reported. I have three of the them and they are great sleds!

There have been some people who have experienced issues with the ignition coils. If you have a bad one, it could be causing your issue. They are not very expensive and easy to replace. I carry a spare in case we have any issues on the trails but I have never had to use it.

You may want to pull the hood and check all of the connectors leading to the coils as well as all of the wiring harness connectors and also check the plug wires.

I'd also pull the connectors to the coils and check the pins. I have heard of pins not being seated in the connector body and push back so they don't make full contact. You should also check for any broken or bent pins.

Are you getting any warning lights on the cluster?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Fresh fuel yes

Air blockage I do not see anything

I have seen that SPI makes a coil for these already and have to say that if they are making them there is an issue

I will check all the pins and connections to verify all is good

No warning light but the Tach jumps up and down 300 rpm at idle....there is an obvious fuel or ignition problem

·