Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner

72 Nordic Tillotson carb

2K views 57 replies 9 participants last post by  Plzsno 
#1 ·
So I'm trying to tune this HR 12A and just running it off a bottle. {not really running yet} My question is ... does this carb need the return line attached, and fuel in the tank to actually idle. It still seems to need a lot of choke to stay running. I just put a new check valve in .....no luck yet! Please help...

Discussion starter · #6 ·
I rebuilt it w/ Tillotson parts from EC carb. cleaned and replaced welch plugs. fulcrum looked level. I have not tried the pop off tester. I'm new to rebuilding vintage sleds. Maybe I should order a Pop off tester. Do you think Factory setting for the high and low jets are the best place to start. I think the sled had a different carb and someone may have stuck me w/ this HR12A....

Discussion starter · #8 ·
Thanks for the info. i'll be sure to check and see if the return is getting gas. I think it's dry. {i thought it was for air}
:unsure:

Discussion starter · #11 ·
After a deeper dive... this is a HR 12 A for sure. So the pulse holes all line up but this carb has a ... looks like brass plug in the pulse hole. Drill it out?:oops::unsure: that idea of mine, my really not loving .

Discussion starter · #12 ·
Thanks BB9076 I need to mention that I had a gas line in a bottle of fresh pre mix. Going though the rebuild one more time, just to make sure all is correct.

Discussion starter · #18 ·
Doo I need to find a different carb or might this model work . Other than I have no good way to hook up the choke cable.

Discussion starter · #19 ·
Just checking, if this is for a '72 Nordic 440e, the engine should be a Rotax Type 434E (should be a tag on the right side of the engine I think, around the fan housing).
And the snowmobile build date will be 1971 (as stamped in the tag on the tunnel).
Found it. TYPE 435

Discussion starter · #23 ·