Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Stretch in '08!
516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought i'd throw this one into the ol' blender and see what churnes up. I just did a compression test on my '05 mxz SS with 6600 HARD kms on it. Both jugs pegged 150 psi! this was with a very good snap-on tester. Does this seem about right for this engine and amount of miles? this is the first test i've done on it so i have no basseline from new.either my tester is off or this thing is built like a brick wall. One other thing is i may be buying an RKT head for it and am just wondering if at installation time that it would be a good time to replace some possibly worn parts.I'm just getting into the mechanical part of these things so any advice is appreciated.

Mr. X

G

·
Mr. X said:
I thought i'd throw this one into the ol' blender and see what churnes up. I just did a compression test on my '05 mxz SS with 6600 HARD kms on it. Both jugs pegged 150 psi! this was with a very good snap-on tester. Does this seem about right for this engine and amount of miles? this is the first test i've done on it so i have no basseline from new.either my tester is off or this thing is built like a brick wall. One other thing is i may be buying an RKT head for it and am just wondering if at installation time that it would be a good time to replace some possibly worn parts.I'm just getting into the mechanical part of these things so any advice is appreciated.

Mr. X
[snapback]688802[/snapback]​
Built like a brick wall!

·
Just the Tip!!
2,504 Posts
Thats alittle high on compression should be around 135 or so warmed up, or do 7 pulls each side spark plus out with a WOT.
Thats pretty impressive, i have an RK tech head on mine and works good so far i still have to get my Jetting right when good ol mother nature wants to bring us some snow. Im 5 sizes down now from stcok and probably can go another 1 or 2 at the most.