Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The plastic seal on the brake side of my Expedition popped out at 11,000 miles. I have a brother
making a two day drive to come ski doing. For you experts: is it possible to change the left hand bearing out with out removing the drive axle from the sled. The other right hand bearing and seal are good. I am a mechanic and should have all the tools that I need to do the job.
I just need some guidance from some of you experts on this form if this can be done and how to do it. Thanks in
advance.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
More information: This is the plastic seal in the ball bearing itself the keeps the grease in ball bearing. This is on
the brake and caliper side.

·
Registered
557 Posts
I'm guessing the seal popped because the bearing is failing and getting a wobble. If that the case you could take the track tension off, remove the brake caliper and disc, and try to tap the bearing off from the tunnel side (or maybe get a 2 jaw puller on it from the brake side).

But i think you'll find great difficulty in doing it that way and you'll need to pull the driveshaft to get it replaced.

If the bearing is not going bad, you could pump a little grease in the ball cage and pop the seal back on. Could do that and see if it'll go one more ride :)

Heres a great vid showing how to get the driveshaft out:

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·