Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to snowmobiling and this is my first sled. I don't know too much about them so any help would be appreciated. I just got a new motor installed on my 2000 summit 700 and it was runnin good up till now. I have put about 80 kms on it and it's starting to sound really loud and I was told that it smells like burning plastic when I am riding it?! Some one had told me that the oil pumps in that year of sled are crappy and that they have 3 settings and should be set on the 3rd setting?! They also said that the reason it smells like burning plastic was that the sled is running too lean?? I am just curious if anyone else has had any problems with this year of sled and motor??!! I was told to mix some oil in with the first two gas tanks that I run in the sled...wich I have done and am currently on my last of those two tanks. I stopped riding it for right now since I do not want to blow the motor again!! I don't know why the motor blew before either, they never told me. The sled has 6200 kms on it, so maybe thats why.LOL! Just wondering if anyone can explain how I can find out if anythings wrong with the sled, or if it's just me being paranoid. i only had the sled for about 30 - 50 kms before the motor blew and I had to replace it!! Well, any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Nick

·
Registered
216 Posts