Ski-Doo Snowmobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 1997 Ski Doo Summit 670 died on me the other day while riding. It sort of just puttered out while I was riding in some pow, which had never happened. I had not been running it for that long and nothing was too hot when I inspected it after it died. I could not get it to start for a while then after some tinkering got it to start but would barely idle and when I applied any throttle it would choked it out and die. When I put fresh spark plugs in, it started up easier and idled nicely but as soon as I applied some throttled it would kill the engine before moving. I have cleaned the carbs out and found no problems with the jets and there was fuel in the bowls. I am suspecting some type of fuel pump issue or ignition problem. Trying to get my hands on a compression gauge as well to check that. I am a fairly novice sledder and mechanic so looking for any suggestions for possible solutions. Anything would be appreciated, thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Checked the compression and had about 110 psi for both. I don't have an air box so can rule that out. I tightened the idle screws a lot so that it would idle very high and got the clutch to engage when given throttle without dying but seemed to be bogging a little bit. When I loosened the idle screws some so that it had a normal idle it I encountered the same problem as before where it was difficult to start and when it did the engine would die when throttled. Wondering if my carbs may be out of sync? anyone encountered this before??

·
Registered
3,318 Posts