New to sledding, looking for some advice - Skandic / Expedition - DOOTalk Forums

Photo

New to sledding, looking for some advice

Expedition 600 ACE

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Luccier

Luccier

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Sled:2012 Expedition 600 ACE

Posted 27 March 2021 - 12:28 AM

Hello everyone,

I've recently purchased a 2012 expedition ACE, and am having a great time with it. It was used (obviously) but really does seem to be going strong. There are a couple of quirks I was wondering if I could ask about. As a caveat: I am very new to snow machines, and so I am sorry if some of these are stupid.

1. Speedometer/tach- this is no longer working. I took the top off and unplugged and replugged the BRP device, and it worked for about 15 minutes before stopping. This seems to suggest that there is a connection problem. Do you know if I can replace the connector piece? Is this hard to do? Is there often corrosion on the points and can you just clean them off?

2. Handwarmers- yesterday I was out in -25 C (I live up north) and my bars were barely warm. Is there a way to change this setting? Frustratingly they seemed to work better when it warmed up to -5

3. Gun/chainsaw mounts- if anyone has experience with this particular sled and mounting things please feel free to weigh in. I live in a small town and need to order everything so can't just try to make things fit.

Also, if people have general advice regarding common mistakes I would love to hear them! 

Thanks so much,

#2 69skiroule

69skiroule

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Sled:2021 850 expedition, 2018 850 mxz

Posted 27 March 2021 - 04:52 AM

Welcome to Doo Talk,

I will  let others answer #1 and #3 as there are individuals on the thread that are far more knowledgeable then I am.