Smoothest Tracking setup for 2022 Exp Sport 900 ACE ? - Freestyle / Legend / Tundra / Expedition Sport - DOOTalk Forums

Photo

Smoothest Tracking setup for 2022 Exp Sport 900 ACE ?

skis suspension setup darting tracking

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Ptnick

Ptnick

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Sled:2022 Expedition Sport Ace 900

Posted 17 March 2021 - 12:35 AM

Bear with me, this is really about an Expedition Sport 900 ACE:

I am new to sleds.  I live in great sledding country in WA state and recently bought a lightly used 2016 Polaris 800 SKS mountain sled. 900 miles, looked perfect. Ran sweetly.  My first few hours of use was on soft snow and all went really well. I went on a couple of short trail rides on soft snow with speeds up to about 30 mph, which felt really fast to me, but controlled and fun.

My next ride was a disaster.  I was following a friend on a hard pack straightaway,  closed to traffic highway, leading up to Washington Pass. He took off at about 50 mph and almost as soon as I got up to 40 the sled swerved radically to the left and rolled violently. I was thrown clear, was not seriously injured, only  banged up, amazingly.   The sled was worse: bent tunnel, windscreen broken, hand guards broken, rear bumper destroyed (by attached ski rack and leverage of the tumbling skis on the rack).  It happened in an instant and I had absolutely no idea what happened.  BTW, I'm 72 with a lifetime of running machines, 2000 hr. bush pilot, but a newbie in sled world.

With research and friends, I learned that the suspension was grossly out of adjustment for my weight. The rear track shock spring preload was barely set at all, far looser than the factory spec of 10.5" which was for riders up to 220.  Maybe 10-7/8".  Should have been 10-1/8" My weight:  With my ski equipment and other baggage came in at  260.

So, I've used up some of my 9 lives in sledding terms.