IcutMetl

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 9641 posts
  • Interests:Faking coolant leaks
  • Sled:2019 Freeride 154”

Posted 01 February 2021 - 09:31 AM

What sort of lodging is available for sledders in the Kane / Marienville area? Stayed in a private cabin there 6-8 years ago, but don’t recall what there was available for motels. Would like to make a weekend trip from Ohio sometime this season and ride the Kinzua loop.

#2 Judge64

Judge64

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 6378 posts
  • Interests:Snowmobiling
    RV'ing
    Traveling
  • Sled:Blizzard 900, TNT 900, Enduro 900

Posted 04 February 2021 - 06:18 AM

Hey...... couple of things. I'm not an expert on the area but I have ridden there over the years,

First, about the closest hotel to Marrienville is the SureStay Hotel / Best Western. I have seen trailers parked there before so there should be room in th parking lot. The trail does not run by the hotel. It would be about a 1/2 mile to where the trail runs through town. If there is a lot of snow, you may be able to run the side of the road. 

If I ride there now I usually do a day trip but back in the day I stayed at hotels in Clarion, PA.... an exit east on I-80. There are a bunch of hotels there but you will be trailering back and forth.

I may be heading up to that general area to ride this weekend. But I was told by a fellow DooTalker that I ride with that you can't make the full 115 mile loop. They closed a section of trail because of construction. He has a camp up near Warren and was riding up there this week.  I'll be talking to him today or tomorrow so I will try to get more details for you. He did say the riding was really good.... which is rare for that area any more the way the winters have been going.

My cousin and I may try to launch near Chapman State Park this weekend. If we do, I will let you know how things look if we go up. Supposed to get a litte warm up today and not sure how much they got up that way.