#1 SLEEPY-G RIDER

SLEEPY-G RIDER

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Sled:2014 Summit 154 REV-XM

Posted 15 March 2017 - 03:35 PM

Short story my spare BCA 1 met its end under a tire after riding. It happens, just means I get more beverages later on. LOL. So I'm looking at upgrading from my other BCA 1 to either a 2 or newer BCA 3. I have read a lot of pros and cons to either as well as BCA 3 is more for Guides or instructors or experts. Buddy has a BCA 2 that is easy to operate and the BCA 3 seems easy as well. However none of us have used the newer version nor did anyone in our last class we took have one. I'm not an expert nor do I really want to be, but I do believe in KISS as well as practice/repitition to be good to be operational with zero to minor imperfections. So I'm here to see if anyone uses either models to assist me in my final decision. Price is not a factor especially with someone's life; however I would rather stick with BCA since everyone I ride with has the 2 or older model and if need be anyone can pick up someone else's beacon and still be able to use same which we've practiced before and throughout the season. Again thank you for any and all inputs.

James

#2 HUNT 24/7

HUNT 24/7

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sled:Yamaha Nytro MTX

Posted 15 March 2017 - 07:21 PM

I upgraded from a Tracker DTS to a Tracker 3, just as easy to operate, better reviews, much more comfortable to wear as its smaller & less bulky. 

#3 YKG

YKG

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Sled:2016 Tundra Xtreme

Posted 17 March 2017 - 04:35 PM

I'm far from an expert here, and don't have a lot of first hand experience with the BCA beacons. I've just played around with them to practice. That being said, if you want to stick to BCA, then the Tracker 3 seems like the only way to go in my opinion.